The Kleeba Challunge is a travelling tournament held annually among the Wisconsin chapters of Muskies, Inc. There are currently ten chapters. The tournament was named after a member of Headwaters chapter, Larry Kleeba, who held the position of Director at Large. Larry moved to the Conover, Wisconsin area from Illinois. He was well known in the area and had many friends in Muskies, Inc. He has been described as a party kind of guy who loved to fish for muskies and was very good at it. Larry died in a tragic car accident near his home, after which during a Musky Club Alliance meeting, it was decided to name this tournament in his honor.

The tournament is a trophy only tournament whereas Headwaters chapter sponsors all club members fishing for the honor of having the chapters name added to the trophy for winning the tournament in any given year.


2020 – Gods Country

2021 – Central Wisconsin

2022 – Capital City

2023 – 1st Wisconsin

2024 – Wausau

2025 – Titletown

2026 – Milwaukee

2027 – Northwoods

2028 – Between the Lakes

2029 – Headwaters

2030 – God’s Country





June 20th  to   21st,    2020

 The 2020 Kleeba Challunge will be sponsored by the God’s Country Chapter 30.  The event will be headquartered at Big Swede’s Resort, 29840 WI HWY 27, Holcombe, WI 54745.

Fishing will be from Sun-up until Noon on Saturday, June 21.

Lunch will be from noon to 2pm on Saturday (Your team must attend to be eligible).

Fishing will resume at 2pm on Saturday and will continue until noon on Sunday.


2020 Northwoods Challunge – October 3rd

.NorthWaters Chapter Challunge Oct. 3rd

The 7th Annual NorthWaters Chapter Challunge was held Oct. 3rd. This pitted the Headwaters Chapter vs. the Northwoods chapter. We could fish any lakes and the get together was held at the Sayner Pub where we had pizza and salad. This years event was hosted by the Headwaters chapter. The Northwoods chapter came through with 4 fish, 36.5″, 38.75″, 40.75″, and 32.5″ and won. Big fish 40.75″ went to Riley Simmons of the Northwoods chapter. The Northwoods Chapter will host next years event. Headwaters Team #1: Musky Pete, Ken Pedersen, Joe Koschnik and Jim Edwards. Team #2: Bill, Bob, Gary and Linda Jacobs.

Pete Stoltman Winner of the NorthWaters Chapter Challunge 2020

Gil Hamm Chapter Challunge
September 8th – 10th, 2020

Team  Registration & Info
Bimidji Lakes Area sponsored by the Bimidji/Cass Lake Chapter.


What Gil Hamm said about himself… and MUSKIES, INC.
“We didn’t build a knife-and-fork club. We built a working club that does something good for the muskies.” “If I had never started this damn club, I would have done more muskie fishing.” “I finally decided to stay out of the DNR because I was an irritant. When I didn’t get what I wanted, I hollered.” “I began to fish at every opportunity. In fact, I fell out of bed twice trying to land big muskies.” “If I had realized how difficult or impossible this would be, Muskies, Inc. would have died a-borning. But it seems that anyone with a dream is not very practical and will try most anything.” “So many Muskies, Inc. members have given so much of their time and energy that it would be impossible to mention them all.” “As a single club, we’ll never be able to do it all. But I think Muskies, Inc. will be around as long as a daredevil lure catches fish”. “With Muskies, Inc., I’ve a strong hunch we’re anticipating new, massive private interest in the preservation and extension of our outdoor heritage. We didn’t make this: the Creator left it to us in trust. We’ve got to make man the restorer rather than the great predator.” “Growing like we have has increased or effectiveness. They’re talking muskies and Muskies, Inc. all over the country”.

Past Gil Hamm Winners
2019 – Bemidji/Cass Lake
2018 – Star of the North
2017 – Bemidji/Cass Lake
2016 – Star of the North
2015 – Star of the North
2014 – Fargo-Moorhead
2013 – Star of the North
2012 – Chicagoland Muskie Hunters
2011 – Star of the North
2010 – Star of the North
2009 – Star of the North
2008 – Fargo/Moorhead
2007 – First Wisconsin
2006 – First Wisconsin
2005 – Fargo-Moorhead
2004 – Fargo-Moorhead
2003 – Southside Muskie Hawks
2002 – Fargo-Moorhead
2001 – North Metro
2000 – Twin Cities
1999 – First Wisconsin
1998 – Fox River Valley
1997 – Vikingland
1996 – Fox River Valley
1995 – Colorado
1994 – Lake Superior
1993 – Colorado
1992 – Colorado
1991 – Fox River Valley
1990 – Fox River Valley
1989 – Southside Muskie Hawks
1988 – Southside Muskie Hawks
1987 – Chicagoland Muskie Hunters
1986 – Upper Great Plains
1985 – Hayward Lakes
1984 – Hayward Lakes
1983 – First Wisconsin
1982 – Twin Cities
1981 – Red River Valley
1980 – Twin Cities
1979 – Headwaters
1978 – Mississippi Valley
1977 – Fargo-Moorhead